Côtes de Porc Poêlèes

The question: can Julia Child’s recipes save Sams Club Pork? Perhaps this is better worded as: can Julia Child’s recipes prevent me from brutalizing pork to the point of inedibility? When I was a child, one of my favorite meals was pork chops, macaroni and cheese and spinach, spinach from a can. My mother added just a touch of vinegar to the spinach to make it palatable. So in homage of that meal, I fixed the Côtes de Porc Poêlèes, Casserole sauteéd Pork Chops, and Épinards Gratinés au Fromage.

I started the spinach first, breaking off stems until I had a green thumbnail, not my favorite look. I then plunged the spinach into a large bowl of water to clean any residue of dirt or sand. The water being clean, meant this was a one time dunk. Now, I have to tell you the spinach seemed more dificult than a Time Step, an old tap maneuver. First the spinach was gently boiled in salted water, then drained, then tossed in a pan with butter until “dried”,  braised with beef stock, mixed with cheese, topped with cheese and bread crumbs, I forgot the bread crumbs, then baked for 30 minutes at 375 until browned. Or not so brown as I forgot the bread crumbs.

For the pork chops, I marinated them in a dry rub. The chops are marinated for two hours. The rub is scraped off, the chops dried then sauteéd.  Drying the chops does make them brown nicely. They are finished in the oven for 30 minutes at 325.

The spinach was wonderful, even Mr. Lane liked it. By no means is he to be confused with a spinach fan. The chops were tender, I thought they were oversalted, but Mr. Lane disagreed.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Côtes de Porc Poêlèes

  1. drskipper2006

    Do you think the spinach can also be used as dip?

Leave a Reply

